2019 Scholarship Winners


Congratulations to YMTA’s 2019 Norm Manly Maritime Education Scholarship recipients!

Matthew Adolf – $5,000 (CAMM)

Ildiko Kremper – $4,000 (Ocean Peace, Inc.)

Ingrid Phillips – $3,000 (Compass Courses)

Wyatt Hanson – $2,500 (Goodfellow Foundation)

Elizabeth Lee – $2,000 (Goodfellow Foundation)

Audrey Chamberlain – $2,000 (Goodfellow Foundation)

Violet Hopkins – $2,000 (Fremont Tugboat; Marine Exchange of Puget Sound)

Caleb Lay – $1,500 (Elliott Bay Design Group)

Bouns Awards:

  • Matthew Adolf – $1,000 (Captain Peter Chelemedos Memorial Scholarship)
  • Wyatt Hanson – $500 (Philips Publishing)

Special thanks to our Norm Manly Maritime Education Scholarship judges! Captain RJ Klein (Council of American Master Mariners), Alexa White (Ocean Peace, Inc.), John Veentjer (Marine Exchange of Puget Sound), Margie Freeman (Fremont Tugboat), and Gary Stauffer (ret. NOAA and YMTA).  Special thanks also to our Scholarship Presentation and Awards Day host at Compass Courses, Julie Keim!