2018 Scholarship Winners

2018 Scholarship Recipients

Congratulations to YMTA’s 2018 Norm Manly Maritime Education Scholarship recipients!


Coleman Busby – $5,000 (CAMM)

Henry Arnold – $3,000 (Compass Courses)

Evan Patrick – $3,000 (Foss Maritime)

Ally Bradley – $2,500 (Goodfellow Foundation)

Mark Yamane – $2,500 (Goodfellow Foundation)

Ian Nation – $2,000 (Ocean Peace)

Nora Anastasi – $2,000 (Ocean Peace)

Keoni Brunson – $2,000 (Pacific Fisherman Shipyard)

Bouns Awards:

  • Henry Arnold – $500 (Philips Publishing)
  • Keoni Brunson – $500 (Alicia’s Choice)


Congratulations also to Garett Francisco who was awarded the Chuck Davis Memorial scholarship!  This was a one-time scholarship designated by Mr. Davis’ family, friends and colleagues to help a deserving student from Ballard Maritime Academy who intended to pursue a maritime career out on the water.


Special thanks to our Norm Manly Maritime Education Scholarship judges! Captain RJ Klein (Council of American Master Mariners), Corine Rosado (Ocean Peace, Inc.), Scott Meritt (Foss Maritime), Brent Morrison (Glosten Associates), Jill Mackie (Vigor Industrial)